Come Aboard, We’re Expecting You

Despite being an intensely introverted person, I often find myself arranging the group lunch. A while back I was rounding everyone up and stopped by the office of a collegiate intern.

I announced, “It’s your cruise director, Julie McCoy.”

She laughed, politely but not genuinely.

“You don’t know who I’m talking about, do you?”

“No.”

It dawned on me that she had literally been born after The Love Boat had gone off the air.

Ouch. I felt like the old guy calling back to when the talkies were new.

2 Responses

  1. Nice! Depressing, but nice 🙂

    I had a similar conversation the other day when my oldest asked why the keys are arranged the way they are on a keyboard, and I launched into an explanation and told her that I learned to type on a manual typewriter and that the keys still got stuck even though they are arranged the way they are.

    I realized it’s like when people my parents’ age talk about how there didn’t used to be TV; bizarre.

    Try watching War Games and see how many archaic technologies and ideas there are, it’s pretty interesting.

    • Archaic technologies and ideas there AND Ally Sheedy in a tight T-shirt.

Leave a Reply

