This Is for Posterity, So Be Honest

We’re a popcorn family, even the puppies. Whilst making a batch the other night we were talking about movie popcorn, specifically what gave it its distinctive taste. My spouse opined that it must be the bright orange lard-like substance that comes in 55-gallon drums. While my spouse tried to think of a place to purchase said oleo, I tried to think of substitutes. Which led me in short order to the First Rule of Southern Cooking: everything tastes better with bacon grease.

Hence my new creation: bacorn.

Someone needs to make a batch and report on its flavor. In the name of science, of course. Let me know how it goes.

2 Responses

  1. Dude, awesome idea. You cannot go wrong with bacon, and bacon-infused popcorn (cooked in the bacon grease, not artificial flavor) sounds like a winner to me. Plus, the name you came up with rocks.

  2. Let me know the results when you try it.

Leave a Reply

