Lucky Man

On the drive last week I heard a song I sort of like. (The tune is catchy enough but any references to cardiac issues give me the heebie-jeebies.) But I really like the lyrics of “Lucky Man” by Montgomery Gentry.I’ve proven empirically that life contains plenty of bad stuff without any extra help. So I try to always look on the bright side of life. Despite its reputation for alcohol abuse and marital infidelity as thematic elements, modern country music contains quite a few songs with an optimistic tenor.I’m coming to believe more and more strongly in gratefulness. Not a contrived, faked gratefulness, (Folks, be careful whose advice you take, whether Joe Rogan on lunar landings and hallucinogens or Oprah on self-improvement) but an honest, heartfelt thankfulness for what we have. Too often people use gratefulness to invalidate complaints about their mistreatment of others. “It could be worse…” It could also be better.Gratefulness is not an excuse to stop trying. Rather, it’s showing respect for the things we do have, no matter how small. One of the things for which I’m grateful is the opportunity to keep trying to make things better. Another is that I was born into the healthiest, most prosperous era in history. Of course, I’m also grateful for my right to complain about the things for which I’m ungrateful, too.I’m a lucky man.

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

