Gird Thyself, Yon Warrior

In some number of hours, anywhere from three to eight, my mother and her husband will be here for their annual visit. On the plus side, she's bringing my sister and nieces. On the minus side, it's always a harrowing adventure for me. Years in the war zone have given me the sheepdog-like habit of trying to position myself between my mother's husband and people I love. It's a lot of work trying to keep everyone safe.

I know that a part of me would be hurt and feel insulted if my mother didn't visit. But I also know that a part of me wishes she didn't, just because it would be so much easier. She always arrives on a Sunday evening so I “get” to take time off from work for her visit. Sadly, it's never a vacation.

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

