Mea Culpa

Since all of the video editing will continue to be done on my PowerBook, I elected to not upgrade the memory on our new Mac mini. Yes, I know that told me to get 512 MB. Yes, I know that told me to get 512 MB. Yes, I know that Macworld told me to get 512 MB.

But I did not.

I have an explanation, not an excuse. I originally purchased my PowerBook with only 256 MB and only needed more when I began to edit digital video. So I had evidence to support my theory that 256 MB was fine for non-power uses.

I was very wrong. With only 256 MB Activity Monitor reported that, just sitting idle, the Mac mini had less than 2 MB of free memory. It spent so much time swapping that the response was sluggish at best.

I now agree with : how can Apple ship the Mac mini with only 256 MB?

The good news is that Bob the Mac Genius waved the installation fee for the upgrade. Go, Bob the Mac Genius! Go, 512 MB!

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

