Surprise!

I came into work today planning to close my door and finish off the task on which I have been working for the past week.

But my inbox was full of emails regarding a coworkers upcoming release. He had discovered a problem and our manager decided that I got the honor of fixing the bug.

There went my morning.

Then the build fails because another group had decided to abandon referential integrity in their database. Oddly, our unit tests assumed a sane database.

There went my afternoon.

Then the deployment does not work since the person responsible for the deployment has a hard time following instructions. So we get to repair the deployment. But one of our processes does not appear to be working. After a panicky hour of research, I discover that the apparent failure is really correct behavior given that the two rows in the database that we use to test things have been deleted.

There went my evening.

Sigh.

Maybe tomorrow I can finish my work.

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

