Dammit, Jim, I'm a Writer not a Robot!

In this blog entry, Hugh MacLeod talks about putting in the hours for your creativity. In addition to validation from others known for their creativity such as Isaac Asimov, I have empirically proven the sagacity of that advice.

But therein lies the rub.

I have a job and, like most jobs, they expect me to put in forty hours per week. (No word yet on the full-pay-for-semi-work benefit.) I have a spouse and two kids that I adore. I have a responsibility to myself to keep up my training. That doesn't leave much time at all for pursuing my bliss.

I am not making excuses. I can and do find the time to write. But I would like more time to write and my other responsibilities make budgeting my time very challenging. I wish I had a better solution for this conundrum.

I have thought about jettisoning more sleep. But I am down to six or seven hours per night and I worry that I am already sleep-deprived. My job would react pretty quickly (and poorly) if I started stiffing them on time. I know from past experience that abandoning my training wrecks my mental and physical health. That leaves only my family and I am just not willing to be that kind of husband and father.

This appears to be a Kobayashi Maru problem.

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

